Prayers For Angels

My heart goes out to the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.  Last night, I went to bed with the news that one of their fans had been killed in a fight at the stadium.  Someone had come up from behind and punched him, causing him to fall and hit his head.

When I got to work this morning, I was greeted with the local news report that pitcher Nick Adenhart, and another member of the Angels’ organization, had been killed in an alcohol-related car accident

There’s simply nothing profound you can say at a time like this.  Adenhart had a very bright future in baseball, and in the world.  And it was a senseless act that brought his end.

So instead, all I can do is offer my prayers on this Passover.

3 comments

  1. roundrock15

    It’s awful. When people were telling me, I couldn’t believe them. Even with his name and picture on the news. I’ve been pulling for Nick all through Spring Training. He, Loux, and Moseley were primed to be three of the best young pitchers in baseball, all in the same rotation.

    I certainly don’t want to poach the Angels fans’ grief, but it took me back to Darryl Kile’s death in a very immediate way. Even though Kile was a Cardinal at the time of his death, he would always be an Astro to Houston fans. I hate the constant pumping of the “FiveSeven Grill,” because Darryl Kile was #57.

    There’s just nothing you can say. I encourage everyone to head over to Torii Hunter’s blog – http://toriihunter.mlblogs.com – and post your condolences.

    http://houston.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

