Minor League Assignments Announced

Chia-Jen Lo.jpgI was very glad when the Astros announced that the Lancaster Jethawks of the California League would be their new A-Advanced affiliate.  Lancaster’s just an hour away from my house, and I will finally be able to get out and see some Astros farmhands in person on a somewhat regular basis.

The one player I’d hoped for was Chia-Jen Lo, the Astros’ first Taiwanese player.  Many have said he may well be the closer of the future.  Well, the assignments were announced today and I got my wish.  Along with Lo, there are several other Jethawks I’m looking forward to seeing in person:

C Koby Clemens: Yes, the former third baseman.  Yes, the son of that Clemens.
C Jason Castro: Last year’s #10 overall pick and the savior of choice for many desperate Astros fans
2B Marcos Cabral: Make-or-break season. Cabral went .289/.374/.402 in 2007 in Class A Hagerstown for Florida; last year, mixed results in the Toronto system
LHP Shane Wolf: 1.328 WHIP and 7.4 K/9 last year with Tri-City
LHP David Duncan: No, not that Dave Duncan…
OF T.J. Steele: One of the top ten names in baseball, right behind Hiram Bocachica (is he still around?)
OF Brian Pellegrini: Showed really good power in Lexington last year (.226/.331/.503).

4 comments

  1. roundrock15

    Well, I’m no stranger to the minor leagues. I’ve been to 17 different minor league ballparks and over 150 games. I just don’t think I’ve ever been to an Astros minor league game… they don’t have a Midwest League affiliate, I’ve never seen a game in Texas, and I’m PRETTY sure the Zephyrs were already a Mets affiliate when I saw them. I’d have to go get the scorecard to know for sure.

    Yes, I keep a scorecard from every game I’ve ever been to. What? 😉

    http://houston.mlblogs.com

  2. hooksfan

    The Corpus Christi Hooks won their season opener and they did a short tribute to Angel’s pitcher Nick Adenhart prior to doing the opening day pitch which is thrown around the infield and than makes it way to the outfield where the last player to catch it throws it out of the park. Nicke Adenhart had spent the entire 2007 season with the Arkansas Travelers one of the Hooks rivals in the Texas League.

    http://thehooks.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

