Cubs 4, Astros 2

Carlos Zambrano and the Cubs came into Houston and took Opening Day from Roy Oswalt and the Astros.

I was at work during the game, and I’m still waiting on MLB.tv to post the archive so I can watch the game, but I do have a few thoughts.

Before I ever started this blog, I lobbied hard on the Astros.com boards this offseason for Felipe Lopez to be our starting shortstop, moving Tejada to third base.  We didn’t sign the switch-hitting Lopez, obviously, and today he homered from both sides of the plate for the Arizona Diamondbacks.

When the Marlins traded Scott Olsen for Emilio Bonifacio, I thought it was a pretty ridiculous trade.  It’s still only the first game, but his inside-the-park home run today was unexpected, to say the least.

Less unexpected was Jordan Schafer’s Opening Night home run.  Schafer, who should hit 12-15 home runs this year, will never be able to hit one of them without his HGH issues coming up. 

The Rays-Red Sox game was postponed.  Judging from the World Series and Opening Day, one has to wonder if the Rays have cursed weather following them around these days.

From everything I’ve heard, Michael Bourn looked very comfortable at the plate today.  If he can put together good at-bats, the Astros will strongly benefit.  Ivan Rodriguez, from all reports, looked lost.  I’m not terribly concerned; his spring was good, and it’s just one game.  I still don’t like him hitting second in the order.

It’s great to have baseball back.  The world feels right again.

3 comments

  1. astrosfaninexile

    Hey – don’t beat up on Tejada. He went 3 for 4 tonight and scored both of the Astros runs!

    I’d be interested to hear how the archived version of the game on mlb.tv turns out. Read my blog to see how they botched the live broadcast for the first few innings. Wah. I wonder if they “fix” it in the archived version?

  2. juliasrants

    It’s either the Rays fault or the Yankees’ fan I was showing Fenway Park off to on Sunday fault that it rained yesterday! lol And keep the faith! Even you said up above it’s just one game! hmm..I wonder if that is how Yankees’ fans are feeling this morning? We should get our game in today – it’s about time!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

